Eastern Caribbean Dollar-1

The Eastern Caribbean Dollar is the official currency of eight of the nine members of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States.  Those countries include Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.  The exception is the British Virgin Islands, whose official currency is the U.S. dollar.  We have been able to use either U.S. currency or the E.C. in Anguilla and Nevis. You just have to let the vendor know which you intend to use so that they can give you the correct amount.  However, keep in mind that if you use a cash machine on these islands, it will dispense E.C.  The currency is beautiful, with depictions of fish, turtles, maps and flowers from the region.

All words and images ©2006-2018 Wendy G. Gunderson. Any use without written permission is prohibited. For licensing information, please send inquiries via the Contact page.

Nevis - Part One: Four Seasons Nevis
Try the Conch Knocker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *